Question: Can My Felony Be Reduced To A Misdemeanor?

Do first time felony offenders go to jail?

If you qualify for a first time felony waiver, the court has the option of imposing a sentence up to 90 days in confinement (jail) and can give up to 6 months of community custody (what used to be called probation in the old days), or 12 months of community custody if some sort of treatment is ordered (drug treatment, ….

What are the 7 felonies?

Felonies that are broken down into these differing classifications include:Murder.Rape.Arson.Sale of illegal drugs.Grand theft.Kidnapping.

How much time do you get for a 211?

California’s three strikes law And if you accumulate three “strike” convictions—one or more of which may be a PC 211 robbery conviction—then you will receive a sentence of 25 years to life in state prison. A strong defense is essential in order to fight this charge.

Is unarmed robbery a felony?

Criminal Penalties for Michigan Unarmed Robbery or Theft Charge. … Anyone who uses force, violence, or fear to obtain money or property without consent is guilty of a felony punishable by up to 15 years in prison, according to the Michigan Penal Code (750.530).

Can a felony charge be reduced to a misdemeanor?

How Can a Felony Be Dropped to a Misdemeanor? A felony charge can be dropped to a misdemeanor charge through a plea bargain, mistake found by the arresting officer or investigations, or by good behavior if probation was sentenced for the crime.

Can a felony DUI be reduced to a misdemeanor?

However, depending on the circumstances of the case, an experienced DUI attorney may be able to get the felony charge reduced to a misdemeanor. In almost all cases, the driver will also be charged with separate violations of the DUI laws and could be facing multiple convictions.

Can robbery be reduced to a misdemeanor?

Penal Code 461 PC — Punishment [for burglary; wobbler that can be reduced from felony to misdemeanor]. (“Burglary is punishable as follows: (a) Burglary in the first degree: by imprisonment in the state prison for two, four, or six years.

Can they change a misdemeanor to a felony?

Yes, depending on the factual circumstances, the prosecutor may amend the charge by changing a misdemeanor charge into a felony. However, usually the prosecutor will dismiss the misdemeanor first without prejudice first then re-file with the new felony charge.

Can a felony case be dismissed?

You may petition for a dismissal if you were convicted of a misdemeanor or felony, were sentenced to probation, and have satisfied all the conditions of your sentence. Your conviction will not be dismissed if you are currently charged with, on probation for, or serving a sentence for another offense.

What is the sentence for felony DUI?

More videos on YouTubeType of California DUIJail/Prison SentenceFine1st offense DUI with injury (felony)16 months to 16 years in state prison$1015-5000, plus restitution to injured partiesFelony DUI16 months, 2 years or 3 years in state prison$390-10004 more rows•Aug 17, 2020

What percentage of DUI cases get reduced?

Some conviction rates were as low as 63 percent while several were 85 to 95 percent. Actual dismissals of charges occurred at rates, when stated, of around 1.5 percent. One country cited about a 10 percent dismissal rate.

How do you avoid jail time for a felony?

15 Key Steps to Avoid Prison on Felony ChargesRemain Silent, it’s your Right, use it! … Remain Calm; and Silent. … Hire Experienced Criminal Defense Counsel Immediately. … Do Not Discuss Your Case. … Understand your Charges. … First, Defense Attorney; Second, Bondsman. … Don’t lie to your Attorney. … Do not speak to your family or friends about your case.More items…•